Bridget’s Baptism

Bridget’s baptism was last Sunday, with her godparents flying from Chicago and LA late Friday night. We’d planned to all go to Mass together on Saturday evening and then have some dinner back at our house. In keeping with our recent Life Theme, the husband woke up on Saturday morning throwing up with a fever and body aches. So instead, we were fabulous hosts who did not see our guests until the actual baptism. My merciful parents came and picked Will up for a sleepover on Saturday, after he woke up from his nap. 

When I got him out of his crib, I asked, “Do you want to go play at Nana and Babu’s house and spend the night there?” Zero hesitation; “Yes, please!” 

Waiting for Nana and Babu to come free him.

When my parents showed up, I was worried he would freak out when it was time to actually leave without me. I need not have fretted. “Bye bye, Mommy! Mommy no comin’! Will goin’ wit Nana and Babu! Bye bye!” I had been hesitant to foist him off on my parents, but it ended up being a good decision. The husband was completely incapacitated in bed and I don’t know how I would have showered or gotten Bridget ready with Will home. 
I was sure there was no way the husband would make it to the baptism, but in the morning he dragged himself out of bed and got dressed. He was still super sick and miserable but no longer throwing up, so he met us at the church and stayed for the ceremony and some (horrendously bad iPhone) photographs afterwards, and then went home to lay back down. The reception was at my parents’ house, so it was actually quiet at our house. 

Bridget behaved beautifully during the actual baptism, cooing at Father as he poured the water over her head. Her behavior during the post-baptism pictures was less beautiful, but you win some you lose some I guess. 

     It was so wonderful to see my dear friend and former (like 11 years ago!) roommate, Margaret, who is Bridget’s godmother. Bridget’s godfather, Nick, made the trek from Chicago and we figured out that he is one of only two people, besides us, to be at both kid’s baptisms. His wife, Kate, is Will’s godmother and she crocheted the beautiful baptismal gown both kids have worn. 

Kate wasn’t able to make it, because she was a little tied up with her three small children.  I missed her terribly. However, several of our other friends/former roommates came and we had a blast drinking mimosas made by my dad and watching the kids run around together. 

  

Welcome to the Church, Bridget Marie!  

 

5 thoughts on “Bridget’s Baptism

    1. I felt so bad for him. He’s irate there are no good pictures either. He was like, “Are you kidding me?! 90% of the reason I came is so I don’t have to hear you bitch about the pictures for the next 30 years!”

Leave a Reply

