2016 Resolutions

I have no big New Year’s Eve plans, other than nursing a baby and chasing a toddler. We are planning to attend the vigil Mass tonight because, um, we’re going to the Restoration Hardware outlet tomorrow. (Listen, with two kids, it’s an all day affair. I can’t handle Mass and furniture shopping with a toddler in tow on the same day.)

I’m not super big on the whole New Year’s thing, but I do love the freshness of new beginnings and the chance to start over with a clean slate. Instead of making a couple of big resolutions for the entire year, I’m planning to make monthly goals for specific areas. Since the goals are shorter term, they’re more specific and it works better for me in terms of accountability.

For January

Spiritual: Pray the Angelus everyday at noon or as close to as possible.

Fitness: Start running again and run at least 3x per week. (I have to wait until my 6 week postpartum visit on the 14th to get started on this one.)

I miss running so much. I simultaneously can.not.wait. to start running again and yet dread that first painful, slow, sad run after baby. After Will, I couldn’t run more than a mile without a walk break at first and I was convinced my long distance running days were over for good and that I’d be lucky to run a 5k. But then, when he was about 3 months old, things clicked and I ran a half marathon when he was 4.5 months. It was slooooow but I did it. I need to keep repeating this story to myself a couple of weeks from now when I get out there and run. Or “run” as the case may be.

This reminds me, I also need to motivate to pump and introduce Bridget to the bottle so I can get out to run in the first place. Ah, pumping. The things I’ll do to run.

Reading: Finish Gone With The Wind. Because I’m a melancholic, I do things like read Peachtree Road and Gone With The Wind while mourning the fact that I had to leave Atlanta. I know, it’s very healthy.

Family: Stop scrolling through my phone when the kids (especially Will!) are awake, unless I’m using it for a specific purpose or task.

Personal: Get started learning to use the DSLR correctly. Look up some tutorials on Pinterest and start reading.

Happy New Year’s Eve!

One thought on “2016 Resolutions

Leave a Reply

