Answer Me This: Who Doesn’t Like Cheese?

Answer Me This3

I haven’t linked up with Kendra in many weeks because I am a bad and lazy blogger, but since she’s shutting this (internet cocktail) party down, I feel compelled to join in the last hurrah.

1. What is your favorite picture book?

I love picture books. In my 11 years as an elementary school teacher, I amassed quite a collection. As a result, Baby Will already has a personal library to rival that of the public library down the street. I don’t think I can pick a single favorite, but one of my favorites is Mufaro’s Beautiful Daughters.

mufaro

A lovely version of the classic Cinderella tale, stunning illustrations, and a non-preachy depiction of the goodness and attraction of virtue.

2. Are you a boycotter?

Not usually, no. Simcha had a fantastic post on how boycotting is really a mostly spiritual sacrifice or discipline. Yes, you can refuse to drink Starbucks or shop at Target or whatever because of their social policies. (And if you feel called to do so, you should!) But we are deluding ourselves if we think that bypassing that latte is going to put Starbucks out of business. I also have to be honest with myself about the fact that if I am purchasing mass produced products anywhere, there’s a good chance that somewhere along the production line, unethical business practices are taking place, whether it’s child labor in Indonesia where my pants were made or Starbucks’ charming Mother’s Day commercial proclaiming that, “two moms are better than one.”

I’m not suggesting we just throw our hands up and say oh well, but I think boycotts often allow us to feel like we are really doing something about a particular injustice when we’re not actually accomplishing anything.

3. How do you feel about cheese?

Like a world without it is a world not worth living in? Seriously, I can’t be successful with paleo because gluten + dairy = amazingdeliciousnectarofthegods. No really- pizza, baguette & cheese, filled pasta, grilled cheese, macaroni and cheese. These are all things you cannot live a complete life without.

images

(Really, is there anything else you need in life?)

4. How many pairs of sunglasses do you own?

Three.

Ray Ban Aviators.

photo-31

(Will’s super stylish glasses would be the $5.99 Target special.)

Ray Ban Wayfarers.

images

Tifosi running/cycling sunglasses.

index

5. How long has it been since you went to the dentist?

6 days. And I’ll be going back soon to get the cavity she found filled. I can think of no other ways I’d rather spend my time and money.

6. If you could visit any religious site in the world, where would you go?

The Holy Land. I would say St. Peter’s, but I’ve been there several times. I have also been fortunate enough to have had the opportunity to visit Lourdes, Fatima, Loyola, Notre Dame & Sacre Couer, and Lisieux. I want to go to the Holy Land, but I think we’ll be saving that trip until we have children old enough to appreciate it. Baby Will is not so much interested in historical and religious sites just yet.

Leave a Reply

