Answer Me This…Marathons & Massages

Answer Me This3

1. Do you have a landline?

Nope, I haven’t had one in years. When I first started dating the husband he had one but he actually did not know the number to it anymore. So I convinced him to get rid of it.

2. What is your least favorite food?

Um, none? I love all food. Especially now that I am breastfeeding + marathon training. Bring me all. the. food.

If I have to pick something though, wasabi nuts. I don’t know if I really don’t like them or if it’s because once, when I was a kid at my cousins’ house, I reached into a candy bowl, thinking I was grabbing some kind of mint covered chocolate and got a mouthful of wasabi nuts. Yuck.

3. What’s on your summer reading list?

I am determined to finally read the Lord of the Rings trilogy (yes, I know I’m the last person in the world to do so).

 

index

The husband really wants me to watch the movies with him and I refuse until I’ve read the book, so I better get reading. I also want to reread Manzoni’s The Betrothed.

index

Also on the fiction list is Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

index

As far as non-fiction goes, I need to finally ready Pope Francis’ encyclical, The Light of Faith. I’d also like to tackle Introduction to Christianity (which by all accounts is not exactly an “introduction”) and The New Rules of Marathon Nutrition.

index 51MjFHbnhvL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_ 51WYfinZDyL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

4. Is there something people consistently ask for your advice on?

I was an elementary school teacher for 11 years, so people regularly ask my advice on education/where to send their kids to school/curriculum/how to handle teacher-parent issues etc.

5. What’s the most physically demanding thing you’ve ever done?

Run marathons and natural childbirth. My BFF asked me which was worse; running  marathon or natural childbirth? And I had to say I wasn’t sure.

They have a lot in common. You reach a point where you believe it will never, ever end and you will be running/pushing forever and never get that medal/baby in your hot little hands. You can only think about making it through the current mile/contraction or you will have a nervous breakdown allowing yourself to think about the whole thing at once.

IMG_0642

My friend Jenn & me after the 2009 San Diego Marathon.

IMG_0917

Will & me after the 2013 Labor & Delivery

6. How do you feel about massages?

Love them. Physical touch is my love language, or it used to be before I had a baby whose love language is REALLY physical touch. I’m a little touched out right now. 😉 Nonetheless, I wouldn’t argue if someone wanted to give me a massage gift card. My only caveat is that the massage therapist shut up. This should be a no talking time. I do not want to entertain small talk with a stranger while I’m trying to relax.

Leave a Reply

