Answer Me This- Breakfast and Bathtubs

Answer Me This3

1. Do you have a smartphone?

Yes, an iPhone, like the rest of the world. For Lent I was supposed to be limiting my “phone-surfing” time to three 15 minute periods per day while the baby was nursing. But the baby nurses a lot more than that and I lack self-mastery so….that Lenten sacrifice didn’t work out very well.

2. Which is your favorite meal of the day?

Breakfast. A thousand times breakfast. When we were in Italy a couple of Christmases ago, the Italians told us they all laugh at American tourists and how they love their breakfast. Although I never want to be the ugly American, I will go ahead and embrace my stereotypical Americanness on this one. Pancakes, eggs, fruit, sausage, oatmeal….yes please! I could eat breakfast three meals a day and be happy about it. Actually for lunch I had toast with avocado smashed up on it with over medium eggs and Sriracha on top. See? Breakfast!

3. Shower or  bath?

Bath! Last week, I said that if the house was quiet and I could do anything I wanted it would be to take a bath with a good book. There seriously cannot be anything better than soaking in a hot bath with a glass of red wine and a book. I feel like this is something I need in my life:

DSC_0165

The only shower experience (is that even a thing, a “shower experience”?) that could compare is the outdoor shower we had on our honeymoon:

IMG_1595

It was an outdoor shower off the back of our little cottage in St. Lucia. There were these adorable salamanders (I think) running up and down the mosaic walls and the top was of course open and there was this sweet little garden in there. So that was pretty awesome. But a plain old American-inside-shower? Meh.

4. Think of a person you love. How many days have you been in love with that person?

Well, of course I’m in love with the husband. But I can’t remember a definite date of “starting” to be in love with him. So, how about baby Will instead?

146-1

He was born November 6th, 2013 so that’s….209 days.

5. What’s the best church you’ve ever been inside?

Well, I’ll agree with Kendra that the Basilica of St. Therese, the Rosary Basilica at Lourdes, and Sacre Coeur are all awesome. I have to say, I also really the love the Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception in D.C. It’s where my high school graduation was. Here’s the upper church:

catholic-topper

And a close up of the Christ in Majesty mosaic:

IMG_8766

And I love the warm, womb-like feeling of the crypt church too:

Lower-Crypt-Church-II

6. Has anyone ever come to help you?

Yes, my mom and dad came after Will was born and did all the things the husband and I could not get our act together to do- cooking laundry, vacuuming up after the dogs, cleaning the bathroom, grocery shopping, etc.

Also, when I first moved to Atlanta, seven years ago, the job I had was not really panning out as I’d envisioned and it was very stressful for me and resulted in lots of tears. So my best friend flew down here and spent four days talking me down off the ledge.

I’m a little late with the link-up this week. On Sunday afternoon after church, the husband watched Will and I went and got my hair cut by myself. It was lovely. Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

