Marathon Training, With Baby

I signed up to run Marine Corps Marathon in October, a decision that may or may not have been idiotic given Will’s sleep habits. This morning I was definitely thinking it was idiotic given that he was up three times during the night, woke up at 5:00, bright eyed and bushy tailed, and then passed back out at 6:45 and slept until 8:15. I am a creature of habit, and I crave routine and predictability. My child did not inherit this temperament, apparently, and sleeps when he wants and gets up when he wants without regard for previous patterns of behavior. Sigh. (I think God is seriously trying to teach me that I am not in control. Thus far, it’s been a hard lesson for me to assimilate. Also, I think people who talk about their babies falling asleep and waking up at the same times everyday are dirty lying liars.)

Although I had really hoped to find a consistent time to run each day so I could get back into the swing of things, I don’t think that’s realistic. Right now, I think I am just going to have to run whenever the opportunity presents itself and I can. Being a naturally lazy person, it’s probably a good thing I signed up for this race because it will force me to run, even when it’s inconvenient. I’ve run a marathon without adequate training before and it’s not an experience I’d like to repeat.

This week, the husband has had to be be at work by 8:30 every morning (he usually doesn’t go in until 9:30 or so) so I haven’t been able to run during Will’s morning nap, because he’s already gone. So I’ve been pushing the damn blessed BOB. Stroller running is so much harder than it looks. Mercifully, it’s been unseasonably cool for May in Atlanta and it was only 80 degrees this morning.. Not ideal, but at least it’s still possible to push Will in the stroller. Much warmer and I think he’d be too uncomfortable.

Atlanta is crazy hilly, so when I have the stroller I try to run on the Beltline, a path that was built where old train tracks used to lie.

photo 1-6

Obviously, the ground was leveled out for the train tracks when they were built so it is fairly flat by Atlanta standards. There’s a gentle grade so you are going a little downhill one way, and then a little uphill when you turn around but it’s better than the mini-mountains of streets that make it difficult just to walk with the stroller, much less run.

photo 2-6

(Forgive the crappy iPhone pics please; it was so bright I couldn’t even see the screen when I was taking them.)

We did four slow miles. Official marathon training doesn’t start for two weeks, so right now I’m just trying to get back to consistently running 4-5 days a week, strength training 2 days a week, and a base of 20ish total miles per week. For accountability’s sake, I think I will start posting my plans for the week here so I am forced to acknowledge it if I don’t follow through.

For the remainder of this week:

Thursday- kettlebell conditioning class/strength training

Friday- hopefully running 4 miles during Will’s morning nap (the husband is working from home in the morning and then leaving for a late afternoon meeting in Nashville)

Saturday- run 6-7 miles (assuming the husband drives home from Nashville Friday night, which he may not if the meeting is long. If he doesn’t come home Friday night, we’ll probably only do 4-5 miles.)

Sunday- rest day

I am so looking forward to this weekend with my little family! The husband’s been working crazy hours all week and taking clients to dinner at night so we’ve hardly seen each other. And even though I whine about not being able to have a consistent schedule, run, etc., this little dumpling brings me more joy than I could ever have imagined.

photo-27

 

One thought on “Marathon Training, With Baby

  1. Yo. We are on the same page when it comes to pushing the BOB. I had high expectations that I’d love it and I assure you I do not. We are opposites otherwise though.. I found it so much harder to work out when I worked full time! I was not one to wake early for a workout and afterwards I was usually too tired and would skip out. Like you, I needed a race for the accountability factor. But I prefer the flexibility I have now that I work from home with the babe. Anyway… My mom ran the MCM last year and I am super envious you are running it! It’s on my bucket list for sure. I was signed up last year, but then I got pregnant 🙂

Leave a Reply

