One (or Two) Hot Mess(es)

Photo 20140508124033

I’ve always been prone to ingrown nails on my two big toes and being a runner doesn’t help. For about two months, both toes have really been bothering me and I haven’t been able to fix them with the nail clippers/Neosporin/hydrogen peroxide. So I went to my regular doctor who told me I needed to go see the podiatrist. So, I made another appointment and went in to the podiatrist two days later.

The husband asked what I was going to do with Will and I said I’d just bring him. He didn’t think that was a good idea and told me to pick him up at work on the way and he would take care of Will during my appointment. All I have to say is THANK GOD he came with us. The appointment was at 4:00. They took me back to the examining room at 4:45. That’s when the really delightful process of sticking needles in my toes and cutting out my nails began.

When the doctor was done (at 5:30) I had this awesome look going:

photo 1-4

The best part was that the doctor couldn’t use the good numbing drug because it’s not safe for breastfeeding babies. So he used lidocaine (the same stuff the dentist uses when they fill a cavity). Which was fine while he was actually working but as soon as he finished, he said, “This is going to wear off really fast, so if I were you I’d get in the car and go straight home and get some Advil in as soon as you can.” Sure enough, as I was driving home through Friday afternoon Atlanta traffic, in the pouring rain, with an overtired baby screaming in the backseat, I could feel my toes start burning.

Try not to be too jealous of this awesome look I have going for sandal season.

Leave a Reply

