A Mother’s Day Answer Me This

Answer Me This3

1. What’s for dinner?

Pot roast. My favorite recipe is the Pioneer Woman. I have a tutoring client this afternoon from 5-6, so I need something I can throw in the crock pot and leave it, so I’ll have to modify Ree’s recipe a little bit.  Around 3, I will brown the meat and sear the veggies, and then stick it all in the crock pot. Then I’ll drop off Will at my friend Angie’s at 4:45, go to my tutoring client, pick Will up, and then head home. It’ll be time for Will to nurse and be put down to bed by the time we get home at 6:15. Once he goes down around 7:00, then I’ll get the table set and ready for dinner for the husband and me.

2. What’s the last thing you borrowed from someone?

An exersaucer from my friend Melissa. Some of the baby stuff I bought for Will, like the bouncy seat, were a huge waste of money because he hates it and screams if you put him in it. So I wanted to give the exersaucer a trial run before I dished out the cash for my own.

3. What is your favorite prayer?

The Angelus. I love the simple way of marking time during the day, the meditation on the Incarnation, and the practice of entering into the Blessed Mother’s fiat. I also love this Millet painting, L’Angelus.

optangelus

4. What is the oldest thing in your house?

Um, the house itself? The house is a hundred years old, so it may actually be the oldest thing we own, but I’m not sure. Other front runners- my great grandmother’s silver which was given to my as a wedding gift, a small New Testament my husband got from his father who received it from his father, an antique bedside table, and a Roman coin from the 4th or 5th century (which we think is real and is obviously the oldest thing we own if it is).

5. What’s the best concert you’ve ever attended?

This is a tough one. In high school I must have gone to 15 Dave Matthews concerts, as well as a bunch of Jimmy Buffett concerts. I’ve also been to lots of music festivals, several Tim McGraw and Kenny Chesney concerts, a Corey Smith concert, a Britney Spears concert (stop laughing), Bela Fleck, Pat McGee Band, and a bunch of others I can’t recall off the top of my head. I don’t know if I can pick one best concert, but I do really love lawn seats at a summer concert at dusk.

6. Do you have a nickname?

Yes, lots of people call me Jules and sometimes people (jokingly) call me JZ because my maiden name begins with a Z.

I hope everyone had a lovely Mother’s Day. I woke up to this on my bedside table from my sweet husband:

photo 2-5

And inside was this beautiful delicate bracelet:

photo 3-2

My mom generously sent me this necklace, which goes beautifully with the bracelet.

photo 4-1

We went to Mass in the morning (you can see a little bit of the necklace):

photo 1-5

Then we took Will to his first Braves game in the afternoon.

photo 2-4

It was a wonderful day, spent with the little man who made me a mama (and also the big man who made me a mama). I love my boys!

3 thoughts on “A Mother’s Day Answer Me This

  1. Freaking out about all we have in common…. (I would have emailed you this love note, but your email is not linked up to your blogger commenting, FYI!!) I also make pioneer woman pot roast on the reg and took my baby Will to his first pro baseball game recently! I did not have a Tiffany box on my night stand for Mother’s Day but best believe Will is going to hear about this (our wedding anny is on Thursday). Anyway, you had me at “probably a crackhead” when I started scrolling through your blog. Looking forward to following along!

  2. Sorry about the email not linking. Julia + Technology = notBFFs. So glad to “meet” you. What marathon are you training for? I’m doing MCM in October- it will be no. 5 for me, but I’m a lot slower than you!

Leave a Reply

