Saying Goodbye To My Little Home…

Five and a half years ago, I was a single 27 year old and I bought a one bedroom, one bath condo. I loved living there. I had so much fun- I was blocks from Piedmont Park, the best restaurants in the city, every parade/festival/marathon in the city literally went past my front door, and I had friends in my condo building and several of the surrounding ones.

I adopted my beloved Bradley living there.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

He had his own little throne on my living room chair:

IMG_0866

And he and Hedgie the (stuffed) Hedgehog supervised the comings and goings in the complex:

IMG_0942_2

That’s where I was living when I met the husband, and Bradley approved of him:

IMG_0943_2

But then I got married, and moved into the husband’s house. Bradley got a new brother, and a deck instead of a balcony:

IMG_0739

Then we had a baby and Bradley got ANOTHER new brother:

IMG_1015

And we ran out of space. We need a bigger home and part of that plan means we needed to sell the condo so we could free up the cash we had in it. Yesterday was the closing and it was a bittersweet experience. On the one hand, so many wonderful things have happened to me in the last 5 years and the only reason I would still need the condo is if they hadn’t happened. It’s because of my wonderful husband and sweet baby boy that I am selling it in the first place. But the condo was also my house, that I bought and made into a home. And selling it is an acknowledgement that that part of my life is really over.

The girl who bought it is young and sweet, and was so excited about it. I am eternally grateful that I didn’t have to sell it to an investor and that the girl who bought it will appreciate it. photo 1-3 photo 2-3

Goodbye little condo. You were a good home to me!

 

One thought on “Saying Goodbye To My Little Home…

Leave a Reply

