Answer Me This

Answer Me This3

1. Do you hate happy clappy music?

Like Kendra, I have to admit that no, I don’t. But I have some clarifications…I kind of like praise & worship music and some CCM. (I know, you’re judging me. It’s okay. A little bit I judge myself here.) But I do not like the Gather-athon so common in American parishes.

Bad-Music

Source

When Gather Us In or We Are the Light of the World starts up I want to throw up a little. But Amazing Love or some other cheesy Jesus-is-my-boyfriend  praise and worship song? I secretly like them. I know- I have no taste. I am an unabashed Top 40 lover and my bad taste in music carries over into church music. So I guess I am getting thrown out of the club too. (But, in my defense, I do like chant. A lot. It’s just that I can’t learn to hate praise & worship.)

2. What is your priority: eating or sleeping?

Hmmm…hard to say. I love both so very much. My inclination is to say that it’s sleep now that I have a baby. But based on the amount of sleep I get and the amount of food I eat I’m thinking that is self-delusion. Some of that may be due to the fact that I can eat and do something else, but you can’t sleep and multitask.

I have learned that I can survive on very little sleep. Hunger, on the other hand, I cannot do. The word “hangry” was invented for me.

5ff35a3bae5a8eb40393058c816d0589

3. What type of milk do you drink in your house?

1% and the husband insists on Mayfield- no store brand milk. It does taste a little better but it is obscenely expensive. I think it would be more economical to just buy a cow and put it in our backyard.

4. What is a book that changed your perspective on something?

There are so many…

Let’s go with The Silver Chalice by Thomas Costain.

index

It’s the story of Basil of Antioch, set in first century Christianity. The book gave me a picture of everyday life and society during this time, something that I didn’t have before. It really helped me to understand some of the social dynamics of the Middle East. I realize it is a novel and therefore the portrayals of John, Luke, and Paul may not be entirely accurate but they are consistent with what we do know about these men and I felt like I knew them better as individuals.

There’s one scene where a peripheral character is found out for being a Christian and taken away. She could easily deny it and her denial would have been accepted without question. She doesn’t, but I had this initial reaction of, “just deny it!” It revealed a lot to me about my own attitudes to suffering, integrity, and hope.

5. Who is your favorite saint?

If I can only pick one, St. Elizabeth Ann Seton.

st__elizabeth_ann_seton_icon_by_lordshadowblade-d5qe0k1

There’s so much to admire about her- her courage in becoming a Catholic despite great social pressure and discrimination, her acceptance of suffering at the loss of her husband, children, and wealth, her founding of a religious order and the American parochial school system, and on and on.

As someone who struggles mightily to stop caring what other people think of me, St. Elizabeth is a great inspiration and intercessor. I am constantly finding more instances and ways to ask for her intercession- as a convert, as a wife, as a mother.

I used to live just an hour or so from her shrine in Emmitsburg, Maryland and visited many times. There is this one teeny tiny little chapel near the Lourdes grotto there that I just love. It fits maybe 6 people, max, and you are so close to Jesus in the tabernacle.

chapel images

Wow. I haven’t been in 7 or 8 years and searching for these pictures makes me really want to make a visit this summer when I go to my parents. It’s such a beautiful peaceful place and I have many happy memories there.

6. Introvert or extrovert?

Introvert. And the husband is too. But for some reason, God thought it would be hilarious to give us a little extrovert as our first born, who shrieks like he’s being waterboarded if left alone in a room for longer than 10 seconds, and then bestows this smile on you as a reward when you return:

photo 2-1

And who could resist THAT? 😉

Leave a Reply

